Friday, June 30, 2017

BOOK REVIEW for "Deathbringer (Olive Kennedy, Fairy World, MD, #6)" by Tamara Grantham

*****(5) out of 5 stars!

Some heroes are fated to save the world. Others are meant to destroy it…

Olive Kennedy is all about positive thinking. She's been stuck on Earth for the past four months, waiting for the spring equinox to arrive so she can return to Fairy World — but she's staying positive. She's hopeful she'll once again see her handsome Viking fiancé who's waiting for her. She's optimistic that her mission to reclaim the sword of Dracon
 — a sword of King Arthur fame and the only weapon capable of killing Theht — 
won't result in death and destruction. 
And then there's the small matter of an asteroid that's been ripped out of its orbit
and is hurtling toward Earth… no biggie.

One last thing — she's fated to destroy the world. To stop that prophecy from being fulfilled,
she may have to sacrifice the one person she loves the most.

Good thing she's staying positive.

Once again, Tamara Grantham has surpassed her earlier efforts and crafted a story that outdoes the prior ones in this series.  This book is definitely my favorite so far in the “Olive Kennedy, Fairy World, MD” set!  

So many things come about in this tale that make it incredibly good.  A lot of stuff is revealed about the various main players.  Many doings are discovered that were previously unknown.  Other events occur that are just amazing.  I could go on and on in this vague sort of way…  Unfortunately, I don’t want to give specifics because I don’t want to spoil any of the surprises that the book has in store.  And there are certainly plenty of those!  A lot of things were revealed that I already suspected, but many were twists that I never saw coming. 

The majority of the characters, especially among the little band of protagonists, have the opportunity to go (way) outside of their comfort zones, and see themselves stretch and grow in various ways.  Olive finally starts to open up a bit more to the people around her about the things that she is experiencing, thinking and feeling.  Even Kull is somewhat less circumspect and a bit more demonstrative.  A lot of the main players certainly get the opportunity to be their best selves in this volume. 

There was a span of time in the book that involved my home state of Utah.  Included were scenes from Arches National Park (which I had forgotten I spoke with the author about as she was researching them).  The way in which she incorporated some unique features of this natural wonder was brilliant.  And, needless to say, that section was very fun to read!

As always, there some things that I didn’t particularly enjoy about this book, including how very much time they spent running around trying to accomplish something, in what nonetheless usually proved to be fruitless efforts.  But everything seemed to occur for a reason, on this journey more than others even.  And the events of this novel did place everyone where they needed to be for certain occurrences to happen.  So all was not for naught, it just seemed like it at times as the story progressed.

The culmination of the Deathbringer prophecy is at once masterful and also tragic.  That all of the aspects of it and other such forbodings must come to pass seem inevitable yet contradictory.  The way that everything was tied together in the end was very artfully done.  Once again, however, the ending sucks!  You can see how some of it at least is totally necessary as it fits into the storyline, but that doesn’t make it any easier to bear for these characters that I have come to love.  I’m trying to hold it together this time; unlike previous instances when the ending to a tale in this set about unhinged me.  I know that there is one more book in the series, so there is still some hope for a happy ending.  Although I honestly don’t see how that could possibly play out, given the current situation in their reality.  But I am trying to remain hopeful about it.  I definitely cannot wait to read the final volume in the “Olive Kennedy, Fairy World, MD” series!

I received a free eBook copy of this title from the author 
and have willingly provided an honest review.  

No comments:

Post a Comment